James Beard Foundation Announces Annual Leadership Award Recipients

  • James Beard Foundation Announces Annual Leadership Award Recipients

    POSTED April 10, 2018

The James Beard Foundation (JBF) have announced their 2018 Leadership Awards recipients: Dara Cooper, Ferd Hoefner, Doug Rauch, Shirley Sherrod, and Ramon Torres. Their work will be honored at an invitation-only ceremony and dinner on Saturday, May 5, 2018 at Hyatt’s corporate headquarters in Chicago.

“We are delighted to celebrate these visionaries working tirelessly to create a healthier, more equitable, and more sustainable food world, as part of the James Beard Awards weekend,” said Clare Reichenbach, chief executive officer for the James Beard Foundation. “How apropos that these awards speak so brilliantly to the ‘RISE’ theme of this year’s gala, honoring the collective spirit of our community and the power of food.”

Traditionally held in New York City in the fall, this year is the first year that the JBF will be taking place in Chicago. “Hyatt is thrilled to be co-hosting this year’s JBF Leadership Awards and to help honor these dedicated thought leaders in the food industry,” said Colleen Kareti, Hyatt vice president, Americas Operations for Hyatt. “These awards not only recognize today’s top culinary excellence, but they are perfectly aligned with Hyatt’s global food and beverage philosophy: Food.”

Have you let your favorite vendor, event planner or venue know how much you appreciate them by voting for them in Northwest Meetings + Events Best of 2018 readers’ choice awards? No? Well, what are you waiting for? Show them some well-deserved love!


Oasis Hotels & Resorts—the vacation resort brand in the Mexican Caribbean—announced Benazuza, the brand’s molecular fine dining restaurant at The Pyramid and Grand Oasis Sens, has received the AAA Four Diamond rating.