• PCMA Education Foundation Announced 2019 Officers & Trustees

    POSTED November 14, 2018

    2019 Board of Directors

  • PCMA Education Foundation Announced 2019 Officers & Trustees

    POSTED November 14, 2018

    2019 Board of Trustees

The PCMA Education Foundation Leadership Committee has elected its 2019 Board of Trustees. Officers and trustees will take office immediately following PCMA’s annual meeting at the 63rd Convening Leaders in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in January 2019.

Convening Leaders 2019 will take place Jan. 6 - 9 in the David L. Lawrence Convention Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

2019 Slate of Trustees
Chair: Carol McGury, MPS
Executive Vice President, Events and Education Services
Term: 2019

Chair-Elect: Valerie Sumner
VRS Meetings and Events Inc.
Term: 2019

Secretary-Treasurer: Angie Ranalli, CMP
Vice President, Sales – Midwest Region
San Diego Tourism Authority
Term: 2019

Trustees: 2019 – 2020 term
Jerry Cito
Senior Vice President, Convention Development
NYC & Co.

Jennifer L. Erney, CMP
Regional Vice President of Sales
Associated Luxury Hotels International (ALHI)

Christopher Finelli
Regional Vice President, Sales
Hyatt Hotels Corp.

John Loveless
Senior Vice President, Exhibition Sales

Karen Malone
Vice President, Meetings and Sales
Health Information Management and Systems Society (HIMSS)

Gary Murakami, CMP, CMM
Director, Global Sales
MGM Resorts International

The following individual will serve in a new position on the board:

Immediate Past Chair: David G. Peckinpaugh, CMP
Maritz Global Events

The following individuals will complete a 2018 – 2019 term:

Douglas Bennett, CASE
Senior Vice President, Convention Development
Louisville Convention and Visitors Bureau

Amy Calvert
Senior Vice President, Convention Sales and Services
Visit Baltimore

Susan Euritt
Ruckus Strategic Partnership Consulting LLC

Tony Lorenz, CMM
Chief Executive Officer

Charles Starks
President and CEO
Music City Center

Heidi Welker
Senior Vice President, Business Development and Industry Partnerships
Freeman Audiovisual Canada

PCMA Appointed Trustees:
William F. Reed, FASAE, CMP
Chief Event Strategy Officer
American Society of Hematology

Mary Pat Heftman
President, Restaurant Show Group
Winsight LLC

Trustee – PCMA Chair: Gregory A. O’Dell
President and Chief Executive Officer
Events DC

Trustee – PCMA Chair Elect:
Stuart Ruff-Lyon, CMP, DES
Vice President, Events and Education
Risk and Insurance Management Society Inc. (RIMS)

In addition, the PCMA Board of Directors’ proposed slate announced Aug. 23, 2018, has been elected and will take office immediately following the PCMA annual meeting at Convening Leaders in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in January 2019.

Chair: Gregory A. O’Dell
President and CEO
Events DC
Term: 2019

Chair-Elect: Stuart Ruff-Lyon, CMP, DES
Vice President, Events and Education
Risk and Insurance Management Society Inc. (RIMS)
Term: 2019

Secretary-Treasurer: Kirsten Olean, CMP, CAE
Director of Meetings
American Society of Microbiology
Term: 2019

Immediate Past Chair: Claire Smith, CMP
Vice President, Sales and Marketing
Vancouver Convention Centre
Term: 2019

The following individuals will begin serving three-year terms (2019-2021):

Robert Heard, MBA, CAE
Associate Executive Director
American College of Emergency Physicians

Derrick Johnson, CMP, DES
Senior Director, Meetings
The Council of Insurance Agents & Brokers

Desirée Knight, CMP, CAE
Director, Education and Meetings
American Railway Engineering and Maintenance-of-Way Association

Amilie Parent, CPA, CA
Vice President, Finance and Administration
Showcare Event Solutions

Frank Passanante
Senior Vice President, Group Sales
Hilton Worldwide

The following individuals are currently serving terms as Directors:

Neil Brownlee
Head of Business Events
Visit Scotland
Term: 2018-2020

Kerry Crockett, MBA, CMP, CAE, DES
Associate Executive Director
International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine
Term: 2017-2019

Leonard Hoops
President and CEO
Visit Indy
Term: 2017–2019

Carol McGury
Executive Vice President, Events & Education
Term: 2019–Foundation Chair

Weemin Ong, CMP
Executive Director
Marina Bay Sands
Term: 2017–2019

Janeé Pelletier
Vice President, Communications and Events
MdBio Foundation
Term: 2017–2019

Carolyn Pund, CMP, CMM
Senior Manager, Global SMM and Event Business Operations
Cisco Systems Inc.
Term: 2018–2020

Kathleen Ratcliffe
Explore St. Louis
Term: 2018–2020

Kelly M. Ricker
Executive Vice President, Events and Education
Term: 2017–2019

Megan Tate, CMM, DES
Vice President, Meeting and Events Planning Manager
Wells Fargo
Term: 2018–2020

Christine Trimmer
Term: 2018–2020

Danielle Urbina, CMP
Director, Meetings and Exhibits
American Society of Anesthesiologists
Term: 2017 – 2019


A team of hospitality students from Kansas State University in Kansas won PCMA’s inaugural Business Events Industry Student Challenge for proposing how to protect personal data of people attending business events.

Members of the winning team included Brooks Hetle, Bailey Brown, Andie Contreras, Tia Gamble and Cameryn Rasmussen. The students were advised by Kristin Malek, an assistant professor of hospitality management. The team competed against nearly two dozen collegiate teams from across the United States.


The Graduate Hotel Minneapolis’ partnership with Topgolf took off this October with the opening of its Swing Suite, the third Topgolf partnership with the Graduate Hotels brand since implementing the Swing Suite in the Graduate Lincoln and the Graduate Iowa City.


Event attendees at the George R. Brown Convention Center (GRB) will now be able to enjoy coffee from the first robotic, connected coffee service in Houston—the Coffee Haus, located across from the Marriott Marquis Houston’s skywalk. Houston First, which owns and operates the GRB, and its hospitality team powered by Levy, Houston Inspired Catering, have partnered with Austin-based Briggo to implement this service.