• MPI Confirms 2017 Board

    POSTED November 20, 2016

Meeting Professionals International has just announced their leaders for the Board of Directors and the MPI Foundation Global Board of Trustees in 2017. All members are effective Jan. 1, 2017, and their term is up on Dec. 31, 2017.

“Over the past few years, MPI has had many prominent industry leaders serve on our boards and this year is no different,” says Paul Van Deventer, president and CEO of MPI. “We have a broad mix of volunteers representing meeting planning firms, hoteliers, convention and visitors bureaus, technology and travel companies, and more.”

The chair of the MPI Board of Directors will be Brian Stevens, CEO, ConferenceDirect, who has been an MPI member since 1985. The chair of the MPI Foundation Global Board of Trustees is Jim Russell, executive vice president, sales, Freeman.

MPI seeks industry leaders who are passionate about the association to serve on its international board and their foundation’s board. Nomination is open to all members and an independent committee interviews and screens the applicants.

The remaining leaders are listed below.

2017 MPI Board of Directors—Officers

· Chair: Brian Stevens, CEO, ConferenceDirect, Calif., United States

· Chair-Elect: Amanda Armstrong, CMP, Corporate Travel and Meetings Manager, Enterprise Holdings, Inc., St. Louis, Mo., United States

· Vice Chair of Finance: Gerrit Jessen, CMP, CMM, Regional Managing Director Germany, Austria and Czech Republic, MCI Deutschland GmbH, Berlin, Germany

· Immediate Past Chair: Fiona Pelham, Managing Director, Sustainable Events Ltd and Positive Impact, Manchester, United Kingdom

2017 MPI Board of Directors—Members

· Bonnie Carlson, CDME, President & CEO, Bloomington Convention & Visitors Bureau, Bloomington, Minn., United States

· Jason Carroll, CMP, Regional Account Executive, Visit Tampa Bay, Washington, DC, United States

· Angie Duncan, CMP, CMM, US Client Account Specialist, Touch Associates, Indianapolis, Ind., United States

· Annette Gregg, CMP, CMM, MBA, Vice President – Corporate West, AlliedPRA, San Diego, Calif., United States

· Anne Hamilton, Vice President, Global Travel, The Walt Disney Company, Lake Buena Vista, Fla., United States

· Michael Massari, Chief Sales Officer, Caesars Entertainment, Las Vegas, Nev., United States

· Kevin Olsen, President, Founding Partner, Keyway, LLC, Aurora, Ill., United States

· Steve O’Malley, Division President, Maritz Travel, St. Louis, Mo., United States

· Ken Sanders, President, Freeman Audio Visual Solutions, Dallas, Texas, United States

· Courtney Stanley, Marketing Strategist, Courtney Stanley Consulting, Grand Haven, Mich., United States

· Helle Svaneborg, Exhibition and Conference Director, Danish Pharmaceutical Information, Copenhagen, Denmark

· Marti Winer, MBA, Chief of Staff, Drew University, Madison, N.J., United States

2017 MPI Foundation Global Board of Trustees—Officers

· Chair: Jim Russell, Executive Vice President, Sales, Freeman, Dallas, Texas, United States

· Chair-Elect: Jordan Clark, Vice President of Sales, Caesars Entertainment, Las Vegas, Nev., United States

· Vice Chair of Development: Carole McKellar, MA, CMM, Managing Director, Northern Europe, HelmsBriscoe, Macclesfield, United Kingdom [EMEA Council Chair]

· Vice Chair of Finance – Gregg Hopkins, President, Gregg Hopkins and Associates, Orlando, Fla., United States

· Vice Chair of Programs – Chandra Allison, Vice President Sales, The Venetian and The Palazzo Hotels, Las Vegas, Nev., United States

· Immediate Past Chair: Stephen Revetria, Senior Vice President, Giants Enterprises, San Franciso, Calif., United States

2017 MPI Foundation Global Board of Trustees—Members

· Carol Bullock, Senior Vice President, Global Sales, Wyndham Hotel Group, Parsippany, N.J., United States

· Doreen Burse, Vice President, Global Sales, Corporate Accounts, Marriott International, Chicago, Ill., United States

· D. Bradley Kent, Chief Sales and Services Officer, Dallas Convention and Visitors Bureau, Dallas, Texas, United States

· Kevin Kirby, Vice President Business Development of North America, PicSolve, Orlando, Fla., United States

· Laurie Knapp, Vice President – Global Sales, PSAV, Mokena, Ill., United States

· Trevor Lui, Director of Operations and Sustainability, The International Centre, Toronto, Canada (Canada Council Chair)

· Anthony Miller, Chief Marketing Officer, Lanyon, Dallas, Texas, United States

· Rob Scypinski, Senior Vice President, Hotel Sales-The Americas, Hilton Worldwide, San Francisco, Calif., United States

· Junior Tauvaa, Senior Vice President, Sales and Services, Visit Anaheim, Anaheim, Calif., United States

· Alison Taylor, Senior Vice President, American Airlines, Dallas, Texas, United States

· Diana Voto, National Sales Director, Disney Destinations, Orlando, Fla., United States (US Council Chair)

· Angela Xavier, CSP, Vice President, Americas Sales, InterContinental Hotel Group, Atlanta, Ga., United States


On May 4, Knowland, a provider of meetings and events intelligence data, released its monthly report for April 2022. The data showed a significant increase in meetings activity, with a 323% increase over April 2021, including a 3.7% recovery of events from March to April 2022.

Additional information included:

•     In April 2022, the average number of attendees per event was 118, compared to 63 in April 2021 and 74 in April 2019.


Meetings & Events Pulse Survey also reveals that a majority of companies are currently hiring.


The SaaS platform, Wix.com, has released a new builder for business owners, planners and venue operators to create customized seating maps. Users can also assign ticket pricing based on the location of individual seats, and any variation of seating can be mapped, including tables, rows of seats, areas with general seating (e.g., a standing-room-only area), reserved VIP sections, or a combination of options.