Thursday, May 23, 2024
Home Southwest Santa Fe Indian Market Honors the Works of Native Artists

Santa Fe Indian Market Honors the Works of Native Artists

Artist Jennifer Tafoya (Santa Clara Pueblo) wins Best of Show at Santa Fe Indian Market’s 2023 Awards Luncheon

By Todd R. Berger

8.24.23 Santa Fe Indian Market TiraHowardPhotography_2213A6675
“Skywoman Watches” by Carol Emarthle Douglas (Northern Arapaho-Seminole), winner in the basketry category | Photo by Tira Howard Photography, Courtesy of Southwestern Association for Indian Arts

The Santa Fe Indian Market announced this year’s Best of Show, Best of Classification, and Special Award winners in a variety of categories. Since 1922, Santa Fe Indian Market, the world’s largest and most prestigious Native North American art market, has awarded Best of Show winners to the nation’s exceptional Indigenous artists in a variety of juried categories.

Over 60 judges, experts in various mediums, reviewed and critiqued this year’s entries and determined the winners. The announcement of the Best of Show, Best of Class, and Special Award winners was made public at the Best of Show Ceremony in mid-August in Santa Fe.


The 2023 Best of Classification winners are:


Class I:Jewelry

Lyndon Tsosie (Navajo)

“Untitled” silver sea turtle pendant with movable flippers

4½ x 3 inches

Sterling stamped silver, inlay: coral, turquoise, lapis, Boulder opal, hand-fabricated


Class II: Pottery (Best of Show)

Jennifer Tafoya (Santa Clara Pueblo)

“Caught by Surprise” etched black pot with dinosaurs

4¼ x 4¼ inches

Hand-dug Santa Clara Clay, coil method, stone polished, etched and then painted with hand-dug natural clay paint


Class III: Painting, Drawing, Graphics & Photography

Dan HorseChief (Pawnee/Cherokee)

“Judgement Day Manifest, The Greasy Grass 1976 Keough’s Stand” painting

24 x 36 inches

Water-based oil on canvas


Class IV: Wooden Pueblo Figurative Carving & Sculpture

Arthur Holmes Jr. (Hopi)

“Talavi Morning Katsina”

18½ x 9½ inches

Root of cottonwood tree, fine wood burner, knives, and oil paint


Class V: Sculpture

Ryan Benally (Navajo)

“Dreamscapes of Love” 3-dimensional sculpture.

5 feet 8 inches x 22 feet 12 inches

Calcite onyx, black Indian granite, hand-carved stone, electric and hand tools


Class VI: Textiles

TahNibaa Naataanii (Navajo)

“Autumn Rose Carnival” shawl and purse Navajo weaving created using two sheds

16½ x 62 inches

Sheep wool with 26 aniline acid dyes in different colors


Class VII: Diverse Arts

Victoria G. Adams (Southern Cheyenne/ Arapaho)

“Sundance on Muddy Creek” tripod with glass containers, diverse artwork/sculpture

64 x 36 x 32 inches

Copper, Deerskin, American Indian-head pennies, dating from 1878 to 1910; glass, steel chain, wrought-iron, wood, acrylic paint, cotton fabric, sweet grass, snake root, Big Medicine, bee balm, sweet pine, sage, yellow ochre pigment, red ochre pigment, Ammonite fossils, sterling silver, mother-of-pearl beads, photographs, Edward Sheriff Curtis photo gravures


Class VIII: Beadwork & Quillwork

Jackie Larson Bread (Blackfeet)

“We Are Fierce” Blackfeet horse mask

18 x 15 x 23 inches

Wool, seed beads, brass beads and bells, wood, plexiglass, satin, lane stitch, applique stitch, and edge stitch


Class IX: Youth (Artists aged 17 and under)

Aydrian Day (HoChunk/Anishinaabe/Lakota)

“Father’s Love (Ate Iyocicila)” Lakota-style cradleboard

24 x 9 inches

Size 11 true-cut sterling silver beads, 24-karat beads, smoked hide, brass sequins, pine, and cotton


Class XI: Basketry

Carol Emarthle Douglas (Northern Arapaho-Seminole)

“Skywoman Watches” coiled waxed linen basket

7 x 9½ x 9½ inches

Waxed linen, thread, hemp, beads


2023 Special Award Winners

Excellence in traditional Hopi carvings: Shawn Deel

Excellence in lapidary: Benson Manygoats

Excellence in contemporary Hopi carvings: Arthur Holmes Jr.

Raw materials: Dominque Toya

Traditional Pottery Award: Delores Juanico

Mark Tahbo Memorial Award: Garrett Maho

Tony Da’ Memorial Award: Virgil Ortiz

Make Me Smile Youth Award: Aydrian Day

Margaret Tafoya Memorial Award: Chris Youngblood

Sarafina Tafoya Memorial Award: Sharon Naranjo-Garcia

Mela Youngblood Memorial Award: Chris Youngblood

Oqwa Pi Memorial Award for Excellence in Traditional Pueblo Painting: Rosie Yellowhair

Anita Da’ Memorial Award to Encourage the Work of a Young Potter: Xavian Suazo

IAIA Alumni Award: Terran Last Gun

The Native American Art Magazine Award of Excellence: Jason Garcia